Sign in
Password request
Just fill in your e-mail address below to receive an e-mail with further instructions
Please accept the privacy statement and / or the contest guideline
I have read and agree to the Senior Researchers Contest Guidelines 2020
I have read and agree to the privacy statment


The concept behind the Senior Researchers Competition is to have an award celebrating excellence in transport related research. It is open for leading surface transport researchers engaged with EU-funded projects who can demonstrate proven impacts in their field. The competition provides a platform to disseminate knowledge and results from innovation and/or research projects in Surface Transport, promoting future synergies and further development of pioneering ideas, in line with the strategic objectives of the TRA stakeholders. The Senior Researchers Competition acts as a showcase for some of the best EU-funded innovation and research and encourages the identification of current and future leaders in their field. The competition was promoted through the stakeholders in the consortium, through national contact points and through targeted contact coordinators and participants in EU-funded transport projects. Participants could register for the competition either directly via the TRA VISIONS website or via the TRA 2020 conference entry portal.

The evaluation was a three-stage process. Firstly, all entries were reviewed for content, eligibility and relevance to produce a long list. All entries which were selected for the long list were then invited to submit additional information; an impact statement about their research and a brief CV. These submissions were assessed by at least two independent, subject expert evaluators against the following selection criteria: (i) amount and proportion of EU funding; (ii) impact of research on national, EU and global levels; (iii) relevance to transport and (iv) research track record of entrant. A shortlist of three entrants was produced for each transport mode (Road, Rail, Air, Waterborne and Cross modality). The winners were chosen by an expert panel at a selection workshop held at the European Commission in Brussels on 10th February 2020. The panel consisted of transportation experts and stakeholders as well as representatives from the EC. The intention was to present the awards at the TRA 2020 conference in Helsinki but due to Covid-19 the award ceremony has been postponed.


The TRAVISIONS 2020 winners were awarded in a remote Award Ceremony on the 29th of September 2020. The book was prepared by the TRA VISIONS 2020 consortium and was designed and directed by Ms. Micol Biscotto, project manager at Deep Blue ltd, Mr. Carlo Abate, consultant and Ms. Chiara Muccitelli, graphic designer at the same company and Mr. George Smyrnakis, Secretary General of WEGEMT with the support of Prof. Alistair Greig (UCL).

Road Award Winners


Contribution to the development of ultra clean road vehicles

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

Zisis Samaras

Short listed

A safer transport system without fatalities/ serious injuries due to driver impairment

VTI - Swedish National Road and Transport Research Institute

Anna Anund

Exporting the results of EU research to low and medium income countries

Sapienza University of Rome

Luca Persia

Rail Award Winners


RISEN: Rail Infrastructure Systems Engineering Network

University of Birmingham

Sakdirat Kaewunruen

Short listed

Evaluation of European railway system

DLR Institute of Transportation Systems

Svenja Hainz

Improving maintenance and asset monitoring

Technische Universität Berlin

Markus Hecht

Waterborne Award Winners


Improving the safety of ships operated in ice-covered waters

Aalto University

Pentti Kujala

Short listed

Port and maritime transport policy

University of Piraeus

Maria Boile

Hydrogen fuel cell power for the marine research vessel Aranda

VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd

Antti Pohjoranta

Airborne Award Winners


Development of innovative and ECO-friedly technologies to improve aircraft life cycle environmental footprint

University of Patras

Vassilis Kostopoulos

Short listed

FiberClay: Immersive analytic for data understanding


Christophe Hurter

Application of neuroscience principles in the study of delay propagation in air transport

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

Massimiliano Zanin

Cross modality Award Winners


The effect on travel behaviour of user-centred mobility tools

Politecnico di Torino

Cristina Pronello

Short listed

Planning for sustainable and multimodal mobility


Elisabete Arsenio

Enhancing decision making processes for maintenance planning of transport infrastructure networks

Infra Plan consulting

Irina Stipanovic